Post-Farm Recognized Certifications

The following list contains all certifications auditable under the Post-Farm Food Safety and Traceability Program. Any certifications your organization holds must be to the most current version of the standard. Please note that this list is not exclusive. Other certifications may be accepted but require pre-approval by the program Registrar.

  • American Institute of Baking (AIB)
  • British Retail Consortium (BRC)
  • Food Safety System Certification (FSSC) 22000
  • Global Red Meat Standards (GRMS)
  • Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point (HACCP)
    • Food Safety Enhancement Program (CFIA’s FSEP)
    • Preventive Control Plans (PCPs) –CFIA plans under SFCA
  • International Food Safety Standard (IFS version 6)
  • PrimusGFS
  • Safe Quality Food (SQF 2000)
  • Société Générale de Surveillance (SGS)

What is GFSI?

The Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) has an overall goal to supply safe food across the world. This industry-driven organization provides guidance when implementing food safety management systems necessary in the supply chain, regularly hosting conferences, meetings, and materials for the industry.

GFSI sets the benchmark in global food safety certifications and standards, which are achievable through a successful third party audit against GFSI-set schemes. These schemes are recognized in a business when they meet the international minimum food safety requirements.

For a food and beverage processor to become certified under GFSI standards, one must determine gaps in the existing food safety management system and decide on a Certification Body (CB) to perform the mandatory third party audit. GFSI will perform a benchmarking process, which will determine competent food safety schemes in your business. Click here for a list of all schemes recognized under GFSI.

Subpage Image